Who We Are & What We Do

We are responsible for collaborating with, listening to and collecting data from the
housing and homeless community to ensure everyone has a place to call home.

Who We Are & What We Do

The SARAH Story

In 2015, the South Alamo Regional Alliance for the Homeless (SARAH) was designated as the lead Continuum of Care (CoC) agency for San Antonio and Bexar County. The SARAH alliance of service providers, board of directors, and people with lived experience of homelessness guide community-wide planning efforts, strategically allocate resources and drive change to provide supportive housing to all. Our goal is to ensure everyone has a place to call home.

Our Mission

Our goal is to ensure everyone has a place to call home in San Antonio and Bexar County.

Our Vision

SARAH will help place everyone in a home through funding, education, empowerment and accountability.

Our Values

• Listen to people with lived experience
• Engage with mainstream systems to house everyone
• Use data to make decisions about resource investments

• Educate service providers to improve programs
• Drive systems to prioritize vulnerable people without a home
• Lead systems change to provide supportive housing for everyone

CoC Lead Agency

SARAH is designated by the federal department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) as the Continuum of Care (CoC) Lead Agency for San Antonio and Bexar County (TX-500). As the CoC Lead, SARAH oversees the CoC Program, which is funding dedicated by HUD for housing with services to prevent and end homelessness in our community. On an annual basis, SARAH conducts a funding competition and submits a collaborative application on behalf of our community. CoC Program Grantees use Homelink, our community’s Coordinated Entry System, to fill project beds.

We’re proud to work together with service providers and partner agencies across San Antonio and Bexar County to end homelessness.

Alamo Colleges District

Alamo Colleges District

American GI Forum – National Veterans Outreach Program

American GI Forum – National Veterans Outreach Program

Bexar County

Bexar County

Bexar County Health Collaborative

Bexar County Health Collaborative

Catholic Charities

Catholic Charities

Catholic Worker House

Catholic Worker House

Center for Healthcare Services

Center for Healthcare Services



City of San Antonio, Department of Human Services

City of San Antonio, Department of Human Services

Corazon Ministries

Corazon Ministries

Crosspoint, Inc.

Crosspoint, Inc.

Daughters of Charity Services

Daughters of Charity Services

Our Board of Directors & Leadership

SARAH Leadership

Katie Vela


Richard Huron

Director of Finance
and Administration

Chelsey Viger

Director of Policy
and Planning

Dr. Azza

Director of Evaluation
and Research

Eboni Jett

Director of Systems

Billy Mahone

Director of Community Engagement

SARAH Board of Directors

Leilah Powell,
Board President

CEO, Local Initiatives Support Corporation

Lori Stinson,
Vice President

Program Director, San Antonio Chamber of Commerce

Phil Beckett,

CEO, Healthcare Access San Antonio

Greg Zlotnick,

Director of Pro Bono Programs, St. Mary’s University School of Law

  • Salena Santibanez,
    Consumer Seat
    CEO, GPS Consulting

  • Kameron Rhys,
    Youth Action Board
    Youth Action Board President

  • Melody Woosley
    Director, Department of Human Services, City of San Antonio

  • Greg Matula
    Director of Corporate Communications, NuStar Energy, L.P.

  • Tammye Trevino,
    Membership Council Chair
    Director, Bexar County Housing Authority

  • Craig Hopkins
    Chief Information Officer, City of San Antonio

  • Javier Salazar
    County Sheriff, Bexar County

  • Leslie Komet
    President/CEO, Komet Marketing Communications, Inc.

  • Annie Erickson,
    Membership Council Service Director At-large
    Senior Director of Veteran and Community Services, Endeavors

  • William McManus
    Chief of Police, San Antonio Police Department

  • Jo Estrada
    Division Director of Community Resources, Bexar County Economic and Community Development

  • Estella Garza
    Coordinator, Family Student Report

SARAH Board Meeting Minutes 2015 – 2020

Board Committees

Board committees are chaired by CoC Board members and composed of professionals with expertise in various sectors related to homelessness. The role of committees is to recommend policy and planning decisions to the CoC Board of Directors. To view bylaws of the committees, click here to read our Nonprofit Bylaws and Governance.

If you are interested in applying for a committee, please email contactsarah@sarahomeless.org for more information.

HMIS Advisory

Members of this committee are responsible for reviewing and recommending policies, procedures, customization, and plans for the local Homeless Management Information System (HMIS). To learn more, click here.

Committee Chair: Phillip Beckett
Co-Chair: Vacant
SARAH Staff Lead: Azza Kamal

Point-in-Time Count Committee

Members of this committee oversee planning and implementation of the Point-in-Time Count, an annual census of people experiencing homelessness in our community. To learn more about the PIT Count, click here.

Committee Chair:  Leslie Komet
Co-Chair: Gregory Zlotnick
SARAH Staff Lead: Chelsey Viger

Coordinated Entry
Advisory Committee

Members of this committee are focused on managing the strategic direction, implementation, and administration of San Antonio and Bexar County’s local Coordinated Entry System, Homelink. Click here to learn more.

Committee Chair: Salena Santibanez
Co-Chair: Jo Estrada
SARAH Staff Lead: Eboni Jett

Youth Action Board

Members of this governing board represent the youth/young adult voice in the Continuum of Care and oversee planning and implementation of the Youth Homelessness Demonstration Program (YHDP). 2/3 of members must have lived experience of homelessness and be under 25 years old. To learn more, click here.

Board Liaison: Salena Santibañez
SARAH Staff Lead: Suyapa Muñoz

Press Room

Press Releases

SARAH in the News